Cell Cycle and Cell Division

Cell cycle

  • A Series of changes that happens in a newly formed cell to duplicate its genome, enlarge its size, synthesize its proteins and finally to divide are together known as the cell cycle.
  • A eukaryotic cell consists of 2 main phases: Interphase and mitototic phase.
  • Interphase is the longest un-dividing phase, which is followed by either mitosis (or) meiosis.
  • Interphase is metabolically active, which is divide into G1, S and G2 phases. G1 → Pre mitotic phase; S → synthesis of DNA and G2 → Post mitotic phase.
  • Growth of cell and protein synthesis happens in G1 and G2 phase.
  • DNA replication occurs in 'S' phase to change the concentration of DNA from 1C → 2C (for a haploid cell) and 2C → 4C (in a diploid cell), but chromosome number does not change.
  • Mitotic phase is further divided into karyokinesis (Nuclear division) and Cytokinesis (Cell division).
  • The correct sequence in a cell cycle for these phases will be [G1 → S → G2 → M]

View this video for the topic from 0:59 to 20:29

Disclaimer: Compete.etutor.co may from time to time provide links to third party Internet sites under their respective fair use policy and it may from time to time provide materials from such third parties on this website. These third party sites and any third party materials are provided for viewers convenience and for non-commercial educational purpose only. Compete does not operate or control in any respect any information, products or services available on these third party sites. Compete.etutor.co makes no representations whatsoever concerning the content of these sites and the fact that compete.etutor.co has provided a link to such sites is NOT an endorsement, authorization, sponsorship, or affiliation by compete.etutor.co with respect to such sites, its services, the products displayed, its owners, or its providers.