Living World

Taxonomical hierarchy

  • Carolous Linnaeus introduced taxonomical hierarchy which is the arrangement of various taxonomic levels starting from kingdom till species arranging it one above the other in a descending order
  • It includes 7 obligate categories and intermediate categories.
  • Kingdom → phylum (animals) (or) Division (plants) → class → order → Family → Genus → Species.
  • Specificity increases from kingdom to species where the from species was coined by John Ray.
  • Each category is commonly termed as a taxon.
  • Taxonomy (de Candolle) is defined as the science that deals with the identification, nomenclature and classification of organisms.
  • Father of taxonomy/Father of Systematic botany – Carolous Linnaeus
  • Father of Indian taxonomy – H. Santapau.
  • Three types of taxonomy are
    α – morphology
    β – genetics, anatomy, Physiology.
    ω – Phylogenetic relationship [Evolutionary relationship]

View this video for the topic from 0:09 to 13:48

Disclaimer: may from time to time provide links to third party Internet sites under their respective fair use policy and it may from time to time provide materials from such third parties on this website. These third party sites and any third party materials are provided for viewers convenience and for non-commercial educational purpose only. Compete does not operate or control in any respect any information, products or services available on these third party sites. makes no representations whatsoever concerning the content of these sites and the fact that has provided a link to such sites is NOT an endorsement, authorization, sponsorship, or affiliation by with respect to such sites, its services, the products displayed, its owners, or its providers.